[Review] Shiver – the wolfs of mercy falls#1 – Maggie Stiefvater

Time to meet a pack a little different…

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever







            know the story of Grace, a young woman who had her childhood something tragic and magical at the same time, Grace was attacked by a pack of these wolves, being saved at the last minute by a wolf which she never forgot. A wolf in particular – Sam. He saved her. With those yellow eyes and unique, he saved her. But after all she was not afraid, on the contrary, she loved those wolves. including Sam … She considered his wolf, no one else.She is a perfect daughter despite his parents are completely negligent, but good people, too preoccupied with their own lives to remember her daughter.The story starts to happen when a school boy of Grace is killed by wolves and the City revolts and decides to attack them. Sam is shot and appears in Grace’s house that welcomes, from there all the platonic love that arose in the epoch that grace was a child becomes palpable.

”She kissed me harder, breath huffing into my mouth, and bit my lip. Oh, hell that was amazing. I growled before I could stop myself.”
Shiver.p.172


After all grace can read perfectly Sam..

“You’re beautiful and sad,” I said finally, not looking at him when I did. “Just like your eyes. You’re like a song that I heard when I was a little kid but forgot I knew until I heard it again.” For a long moment there was only the whirring sound of the tires on the road, and then Sam said softly, “Thank you.” 

Shiver.p.120

    The plot does not have many big events or twists, and is fully focused on the couple’s struggle to stay together. And, incredible as it may seem, it is quite sufficient. Without becoming tiresome, this book brings us a beautiful love story, with intense feelings that hit us in full. It is impossible not to be moved by the situation that the couple is facing…



I didn’t think I belonged here in her world, a boy stuck between two lives, dragging the dangers of the wolves with me, but when she said my name, waiting for me to follow, I knew I’d do anything to stay with her.”


We can’t forget the humor on book too…

“What do you eat?”

“Baby bunnies.” She narrowed her eyes, so I grinned and said, “Adult bunnies, too. I’m an equal-opportunity bunny-eater.” 
Shiver.p.52




Despite being a book of fiction involving a wolf with a human: we come to feel that the story is real . by this all the soundtrack is with be the wolf –  One Man Wolfpack

”Just call me when is starting the pain

I’m not afraid of us
Just call me when is starting the pain
I’ll make a hell of us
Just call me when is starting the pain
I’m not afraid of us
Just call me when is starting the pain
Come on, let me see”


XoXo
Klau Tks

Deixe um comentário

